Experiments for my Mouth: Tacolicious

Last Friday, Chadd kept sending me these cryptic texts. I got done with work and drove up to his place to finally figure out what he was talking about. He had bought me a present and was giving me clues as to where he hid it. This treasure turned out to be a sweet new cookbook called Tacolicious. Just by the looks of the cover art I knew this was gonna be a good one! I was more excited than this bear hula hooping! I paged through the book that evening, reading the intros and about half of the recipes. I NEEDED to make these tacos ASAP! Saturday we decided on a meal: Guajillo braised beef short rib tacos with pickled carrots, cauliflower, and jalapenos, the “Legendary Orange Sauce”, rice-o-licious, and frijoles barrachos.

HO-LY SHIT!!

(In my excitement and clouded judgment of inevitable snacks I forgot to get pictures of the spread, so have this shark chomping on a taco)

shark_somb_by_bigbabyluc-d66avd9

Those tacos and all the fixin’s were AAAAAAMAZING! The beef was so tender it fell off the bones and made shredding super easy. They also soaked up all the spices and chilies and gained a mouthwatering deep red/brown color. That meat is everything you want in a taco.

The pickled veggies were a perfect crunchy topping. I was a bit hesitant at first to add the cauliflower but figured “hey, that’s what is called for in the recipe so it must be worth it”. Totally worth it. The cauliflower soaked up all the spicy, vinegary flavor of the pickling juices. I wanna eat that stuff straight up! Too bad I left it at Chadd’s, meaning it will probably be gone before I get up there again 😦

AND THIS ORANGE SAUCE! oh man. So simple but so flavorful. It has a light creamy texture with just the right amount of heat for really any taco. The majority of the spice comes from dried arbol chilies. I kinda just want to fill up a bathtub with this orange sauce and bath in it it is so freaking good.

Finally the rice and beans. Honestly, these got a bit overshadowed to me by the tacos. However, upon eating the rice and beans for lunch on Monday, I was able to re-evaluate how great these sides were. The rice had a lot of chili flavor and the beans were savory and hearty with awesome chunks of bacon.

If every meal we make out of this book is as delicious as this one, I am going to be one happy camper.

5 out of 5 for mind blown nearly orgasmic taste

Taco count: 53

4 thoughts on “Experiments for my Mouth: Tacolicious

  1. wendy February 10, 2015 / 12:50 pm

    my mouth is watering reading this. You need to make this for me

    Like

Leave a Reply

