Taco Review: Los Ocampo

IMG_20150413_201407 It was a whirlwind of activity before leaving for Thailand. I ate tacos but I didn’t write about tacos. I was very preoccupied with quitting my job and wrapping up all the projects I was associated with, moving from my apartment in Austin to Minneapolis, sort of job hunting to line up something upon my arrival back to the states (which proved unfruitful, yay unemployment!), getting the trip of a life time organized, and, of course, Chadd and I decided to take our annual ski trip the weekend before leaving for Thailand. Needless to say I just downright didn’t have time to write this post. However, I’m back, unemployed for the moment, it’s nice out and I’m gonna sit here in this hammock and catch up on my taco blogging!

In between one of the busy weekends back in February, I managed to find time to go eat tacos with my friend Jennina, who was ultra enthusiastic about getting to be a part of my taco adventure. Here she is eating tacos.

jennina with tacos

Can you believe she ate ALL of those? What a pig.

I took Jennina to Los Ocampo, located inside the Midtown Global Market. I got 3 tacos, one from each of their spicy levels: one taco al pastor (pork marinated and roasted on a spit, right), one taco chicharron prensado (smoked pork in red sauce, middle), and one taco tinga de rez (chipotle beef, left). They look appetizing right?

20150301_150627-1

They were kind of sad. The al pastor was good! Very flavorful and the meat came chopped so they were just a tad crispy. The pork in red sauce however was a sorry flavorless soggy lump of shredded meat and the chipotle beef was very similar in soggy sadness. Also, all of the tacos were only sort of luke warm.

taco-bout-it

I give the al pastor 3 out of 5 stars and the others 2 out of 5 stars.

Los Ocampo overall comes in at a disappointing 2.5 out of 5.

One thought on “Taco Review: Los Ocampo

Leave a Reply

