National Taco Day October 4th!

Thank goodness for all you fine people for keeping me informed of the important national holidays! I had no idea that October 4th was National Taco Day until a few of you commented on my Facebook. And I’m so glad you did as I had had a craving for dirty Chinese food. That idea quickly went out the door as did I to go get tacos from Taqueria Las Teresitas!

For this under recognized holiday, I ordered a feast! Considering I have already had all their tacos, I decided to try something new. One of my absolute favorite Mexican items is chile verde sauce. So, appropriately, I ordered the Chile Verde platter which consists of pork tips and potatoes in a delicious chile tomatillo verde sauce with rice, beans, and assorted taco toppings. Chadd got the Steak a la Diabla which was steak in a deep red spicy garlic sauce with beans, rice, and assorted taco toppings. We each also got a chorizo taco and of course, multiple salsas from the salsa bar to go with some tortilla chips. Everything was fantastic. I must admit that I think my Chile Verde platter was better than the Steak Diabla but Chadd would disagree. I was able to still taste the potatoes and pork flavors with the chile verde but Chadd’s diabla sauce covered up much of the meat flavor in my opinion, just too overpowering. But, to each their own!

tacoday1

Fun Facts provided by National Taco Day:

  • Last year, Americans at over 4.5 billion tacos
  • The word taco is believed to be derived from explosives Mexicans used to use. These explosives were gunpowder wrapped in paper.
  • Ensenada, Mexico is a city that claims to have invented the fish taco
  • It is thought that the first taco truck popped up in New York City in 1966.

 

Taco Count: 246-250

Leave a Reply

